Never one to rest on his laurels, The mighty Van Morrison was never going to spend lockdown baking bread and watching box sets. The Belfast born star spent the period writing and recording his 42nd record – which is now set for release on 7 May 2021.

The Latest Record Project: Volume 1 is a 28 track double CD/ triple vinyl album which delves into his ongoing love of blues, R&B, jazz and soul. However, the singer-songwriter seems to be pushing the boundaries with this one, saying:

“I’m getting away from the perceived same songs, same albums all the time. This guy’s done 500 songs, maybe more, so hello? Why do you keep promoting the same ten? I’m trying to get out of the box.”

Morrison has dropped the title track to the album online – and it’s a great tune. 

Check it out below – along with the CD track listing. Personally, I can’t wait to hear the track Why Are You On Facebook?

The track listing:

Disc 1

  1. Latest Record Project
  2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
  3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
  4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
  5. Tried To Do The Right Thing
  6. The Long Con
  7. Thank God For The Blues
  8. Big Lie
  9. A Few Bars Early
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Only A Song
  12. Diabolic Pressure
  13. Deadbeat Saturday Night
  14. Blue Funk

Disc 2

  1. Double Agent
  2. Double Bind
  3. Love Should Come With A Warning
  4. Breaking The Spell
  5. Up County Down
  6. Duper’s Delight
  7. My Time After A While
  8. He’s Not The Kingpin
  9. Mistaken Identity
  10. Stop Bitching, Do Somethin
  11. Western Man
  12. They Own The Media
  13. Why Are You On Facebook?
  14. Jealousy

The cover:

Source: Van Morrison