John Carpenter’s VILLAGE OF THE DAMNED Gets A New 2 Disc Soundtrack Release

John Carpenter’s Village Of The Damned is an over-looked film which doesn’t get enough love. It might not be one of the Master Of Horror‘s greatest movies, but it’s certainly not as bad as its reputation suggests.

The 1995 film is a remake of the 1960 film of the same name based on John Wyndham’s 1957 novel The Midwich Cuckoos. It stars Christopher Reeve, Kirstie Alley, Linda Kozlowski, Michael Paré and Mark Hamill.

The soundtrack for Village of The Damned was composed by John Carpenter and The Kinks’ Dave Davies – it’s a moody score, perfectly fitting into Carpenter’s cinematic soundscape. The soundtrack has now been re-released by Varèse Sarabande in a new 2-disc (36 track) presentation which includes detailed liner notes by film music writer Randall Larson. 

The release is limited to just 2,000 copies – pick yours up here.

A Movies In Focus review of the soundtrack is coming soon.