Dolenz Sings Nesmith

Movies In Focus is a huge fan of The Monkees – and also the solo career of Michael Nesmith. I actually saw the full Monkees line-up – Davy Jones, Peter Tork, Micky Dolenz and Mike Nesmith – play in Belfast in 1997. 

Michael Nesmith’s Monkees bandmate Micky Dolenz is now releasing an album of songs which were written by the country singer throughout his career. Dolenz Sings Nesmith, which is produced by Nesmith’s son, Christian Nesmith will be released by 7a Records on 21 May, 2021.

Dolenz’s recording of Different Drum has just been released – and I fully approve. It has more in common with the version that Linda Ronstadt recorded with the Stone Poneys in 1967 than Nesmith’s own version, but there’s nothing wrong with that. Dolenz’s voice sounds amazing singing the song, fresh and light. 

Dolenz Sings Nesmith features a fantastic run of Nesmith tracks:

1. Carlisle Wheeling
2. Different Drum
3. Don’t Wait For Me
4. Keep On
5. Marie’s Theme
6. Nine Times Blue
7. Little Red Rider
8. Tomorrow And Me
9. Circle Sky
10. Propinquity (I’ve Just Begun To Care)
11. Tapioca Tundra
12. Only Bound
13. You Are My One
14. Grand Ennui (CD Bonus Track)

Listen to Dolenz’s cut of Different Drum below along with his version of Propinquity (I’ve Just Begun to Care) and a taster of the album.